Student accepts House resolution for championship drill team

SSS Emily Conroy

YSU student Cadet Capt. Emily Conroy appears before the Ohio House of Representatives. To the left is State Rep. Sean O’Brien, and the to right is Cadet Sgt. Matthew Chamberlain.

Emily Conroy of Canfield, a freshman Electrical Engineering major at Youngstown State University, accepted a resolution before the Ohio House of Representatives this fall on behalf of the Youngstown Air Reserve Station Composite Squadron 051 Drill Team, which placed first at the 2013 National Cadet Competition.

“We’re very honored, and thank you for having us here today,” Cadet Capt. Conroy said after she and Cadet Sgt. Matthew Chamberlain accepted the resolution of commendation from State Rep. Sean O’Brien. “It was a great honor to represent the great state of Ohio and the great lakes region and to go on to nationals.”

“Everybody here would agree that it has been quite an invaluable experience to help build us up as cadets but also as people and leaders of the country,” she added. “We’re all looking very forward to competing again this next season and hope to do the state proud.”

Conroy is a member of the drill team that competed in the national contest in Dayton, Ohio. Also competing were top teams from California, Colorado, New Jersey and North Carolina. The Youngstown group is the first team from Ohio to ever win the National Cadet Competition. The competition consists of In-Ranks Inspection, Standard Drill, Innovative Drill, a Written Examination, Panel Quiz, a Volleyball tournament, and a team Mile Run.

The team is coached by Civil Air Patrol Major William Hrinko Jr. and First Lieutenant Diana Beatty. In addition to Conroy, team members are Cadet Major Megan Beatty (Austintown), Cadet Second Lieutenant Vanessa Betz (Greenville), Cadet Staff Sergeant Matthew Chamberlain (Wellsville), Cadet Second Lieutenant Caleb Durfee (Salem), Cadet Airman First Class Christian Durfee (Salem), Cadet Captain Nathaniel Forrider (Leetonia), Cadet Technical Sergeant Michael Gentile (Niles), Cadet Technical Sergeant Brian Haight (Salem), Cadet Lieutenant Colonel Aubry Lindauer (McDonald), Cadet Staff Sergeant Ethan Lint (Cortland), Cadet Airman First Class Cyrel Newcome (Salem), and Cadet Technical Sergeant Connor O’Kane (Poland), and Cadet First Lieutenant Austen Peters (Poland).  Cadet Staff Sergeant Brian Hunter Jr. (Brookfield) was on the team at the state and region level. Forrider served as the Team Commander, leading the team through all seven events.

Tagged with