Bliss Hall hosts NEO Scholastic Art Awards Exhibit

NEO art awards

This is one of the pieces of art on display in Bliss Hall as part of the Northeast Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibit.

Youngstown State University hosts the 2016 Northeastern Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition in Bliss Hall through Jan. 28.

Artwork from junior high school and high school students from throughout the region is on display in the Judith Rae Solomon Gallery on the second floor of Bliss Hall The gallery is open weekdays 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. The artwork is also on display in the YSU Art Department on the fourth floor of Bliss Hall.

“The Scholastic Art Awards program is an outstanding way to showcase middle and high school artwork in our region,” said Greg Moring, chair of YSU’s Department of Art. “ We are pleased to host this year’s events.”

Award-winners will be recognized at two ceremonies on Saturday, Jan. 16 in Ford Theater in Bliss Hall. High school students will receive awards at noon, and the ceremony for junior high students is at 1:30 p.m. Parking is available for a $5 fee in the Wick Avenue deck. Those attending the awards ceremonies should enter Bliss Hall through the University Theater lobby on the first floor.

The ceremonies feature awards given to students who received Gold and Silver Key awards as well as Honorable Mention awards. The 560 regional entries reflect each participating school’s outstanding student work. From these entries a panel of judges selects works to receive Honorable Mention, Silver and Gold keys and five nominations for the prestigious American Visions Awards. The American Visions Award and Gold Key finalists will be sent to New York to compete for awards and scholarships with other student entries from across the nation.

The Scholastic Art Awards program is the largest annual student art competition in the United States. Founded in 1927 by Scholastic Inc., the awards program is dedicated to recognizing the achievements of young artists. The program has recognized more than 13 million creative teenagers, including Andy Warhol and Robert Redford, in its 90-year history.

The following schools are participating in the 2016 Northeastern Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition:

Ashtabula County: Grand Valley Middle School, Grand Valley High School, Jefferson Area High School.

Columbiana County: East Palestine High School, Leetonia High School, Salem High School, United Local High School, Wellsville High School.

Mahoning County: Austintown Fitch High School, Boardman High School, Boardman Center Middle School, Cardinal Mooney High School, Canfield High School, Canfield Village Middle School, Holy Family School, Jackson Milton High School, Lowellville High School, Saint Christine School, Sebring High School, South Range High School, Struthers High School, Ursuline High School, West Branch High School, Western Reserve High School.

Trumbull County: Champion Middle School, Howland High School, Hubbard High School, Joseph Badger High Schools, Lakeview Local High School, Liberty High School, Lordstown High School, Mathews High School, Mineral Ridge High School, Newton Falls High School, Niles McKinley High School, Niles Middle School, Trumbull Career and Technical Center, Warren G. Harding High School.

The Grand Patron Sponsors are Akron Children’s Hospital Mahoning Valley and Community Foundations of the Mahoning Valley. Patron Sponsors include: Youngstown State University Department of Art and Boardman Rotary. Collector Sponsors include: BOC Water Hydraulics, Inc., and the Trumbull County Educational Service Center.