YSU’s Stout receives national Outstanding Accounting Educator Award


From left to right: Julie A. Peters, PricewaterhouseCoopers, sponsor of the AAA Outstanding Accounting Educator Award; William (Bill) F. Messier, Jr., University of Nevada, Las Vegas; David E. Stout, Youngstown State University; and, Professor Sue Haka, Michigan State University (past president, American Accounting Association, and past recipient, AAA Outstanding Accounting Educator Award). Professor Messier was also a recipient of the 2015 AAA Outstanding Educator Award.

David E. Stout., the John S. and Doris M. Andrews Chair in Accounting in the Williamson College of Business Administration at Youngstown State University, has received the 2015 Outstanding Accounting Educator Award from the American Accounting Association and sponsored by the PricewaterhouseCoopers Foundation.

The award was presented at the 2015 AAA Annual Meeting in Chicago.

“This is an exceptional honor for David Stout and recognizes his exceptional career in accounting education,” said Betty Jo Licata, dean of the Williamson College of Business Administration.

“He has demonstrated excellence in teaching, research and service to his profession. We are fortunate to have such a uniquely talented individual on the faculty of the Williamson College of Business Administration. Our accounting majors and MBA students are the beneficiaries of his dedication to the teaching-learning process.”

The general criteria for the AAA Outstanding Accounting Educator Award are based on contributions to accounting education from scholarly endeavors in teaching and research over a sustained period of time.

Stout has published 100 articles in various professional and academic journals. He is a co-author of Cost Management: A Strategic Emphasis, 6th edition (McGraw-Hill, 2013). He has served as editor of Issues in Accounting Education and as editor-in-chief of the Journal of Accounting Education. Stout is past president of the AAA Ohio Region, the AAA Teaching, Learning, and Curriculum Section and the Academy of Business Education. He recently completed a three-year term as a member of the AAA Board of Directors.

Stout also received the 2007 Brummet Award from the IMA, the 2007 Ohio Outstanding Accounting Educator Award, and the 2008 AICPA Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award. In 2008, he was inducted into the TLC Section’s Hall of Honor.

Stout joined the faculty of the Lariccia School of Accounting and Finance at YSU in 2003. He regularly teaches undergraduate and MBA-level courses in cost and managerial accounting.

Of the many comments written in support of his nomination for this year’s award, Dr. Stout points to the following as the one for which he is most proud: “perhaps his strongest quality is that with all of his accomplishments, he has never lost focus on the interests of his students.”

Additional information about the award, including a listing of previous winners, here.