YSU welcomes new class of University Scholars

Youngstown State University welcomed the new class of Leslie H. Cochran University Scholars today at a special ceremony in Kilcawley Center on the YSU campus.

The University Scholars program, started in 1993 under the leadership of then YSU President Leslie H. Cochran, is a full-tuition, room-and-board scholarship awarded annually to 40 of the best and brightest high school graduates throughout the nation.

Funded by the YSU Foundation, the Scholars program boasts more than 650 alumni and is widely recognized for producing some of YSU’s most successful graduates. In all, the program has attracted students from 19 states and six foreign countries. More than 300 of them were at the top of their high school classes when they came to YSU. Nearly 100 Scholar graduates have either completed or are in the process of completing a terminal degree.

The new class of Scholars features 40 students from as far away as Kansas. The Scholars, and their parents, were on campus today to register for classes, learn about various university programs and meet graduates of the Scholars program. Scholars live in Cafaro House residence hall, built in 1995 specifically to house Scholars and other honors students.

Ron Shaklee, professor, Geography, has been the director of the Scholars program since 2000. Amy Cossentino is assistant director.

For more information on the University Scholars program, call 330-941-2772 or visit http://www.ysu.edu/honors/.

Here is the 21st class of University Scholars, major and high school:

Samantha Anderson, Business Management, Poland Seminary High School,

Michael Barkett, Music Education, Canfield High School

Daniel Belinky, Business, Boardman High School

Ryan Betts, Engineering, Boardman High School

Kyle Bryan, Civil Engineering, Columbiana High School

Catena Core, Biology, Lakeview High School

Brock DeAngelo, Biology, John F. Kennedy Catholic High School

Mariah DeFuria, Chemistry, Austintown Fitch High School

Miranda DeFuria, Civil Engineering, Austintown Fitch High School

Joshua Durig, Chemistry, Mineral Ridge High School

William, Erskine, Nursing, Salem High School

Megan Evans, Civil Engineering/Spanish, Boardman High School

Kirstie Feorene, Electrical Engineering, Austintown Fitch High School

Tyler Fond, General Administration, Hubbard High School

Greta Frost, Political Science, Jackson-Milton High School

Michael Gagnon, Electrical Engineering, Salem High School

Katrina Gerbrand, Exercise Science-PT Track, Newton High School

Megan Guliano, Undetermined, John F. Kennedy Catholic High School

Emily Hoopes, Integrated Mathematics, Champion High School

Tyler Hovanec, Electrical & Computer Engineer, Mathews High School

Georgia Kasamias, Nutrition/Spanish, Boardman High School

Audrey Keleman, Biology/Spanish, Boardman High School

Abigail Kovacs, Political Science, Jefferson Area High School

Katina Landgraff, Integrated Math Education, Canon-McMillan High School

Nicola Lucarelli, Finance, Howland High School

Tyler Miller-Gordon, Philosophy, Hubbard High School

Andrew Morgan, Computer Information Systems, Mathews High School

Tyler Pabst, Biology, Austintown Fitch High School

Amber Palmer, Professional Writing & Editing/Theater, Lakeview High School

Miranda Parke, Political Science, Maplewood High School

Sarah Pigza, Music Education, West Branch High School

Devon Rambo, Mechanical Engineering, Mineral Ridge High School

Elizabeth Rogenski, Mechanical Engineering/Physics & Astronomy, Poland Seminary High School

Cassidy Stoddard, Undetermined, Columbiana High School

Gregory Thompson, Computer Science, McDonald High School

Elizabeth Urig, Chemical Engineering, Canfield High School

Joseph Wilaj, Engineering, Struthers High School

David Wilaj, Business Economics, Lowellville High School

Michael Wilfong Jr., Pre-Law/Accounting, Ursuline High School

Elisabeth Winston, Nursing, Girard High School