25 YSU students inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma

Beta Gamma Sigma

From left, (front row) Philip Hall; Michael Podolsky; Drae Smith; Nickolas DeKraker; John Stoops; Benjamin Smith; Michael Cerni; Corinne Bocci; Andrew Boyle; Yuan Lu Beck; and McKenna Goske were inducted as new Beta Gamma Sigma members and were congratulated by current members (second row) Deanna Hardy; William Vendemia, Ph.D.; Brian Laraway; Betty Jo Licata, Ph.D., the dean of the Williamson College of Business Administration; Kendra Fowler, Ph.D.; Karin Petruska, Ph.D.; and Anthony Kos, Ph.D.

The Youngstown State University Chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma, hosted by the Williamson College of Business Administration, installed 25 business students during induction ceremonies on the YSU campus.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the world’s premier business honorary reserved exclusively for schools accredited by AACSB International ‑ The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. Becoming a Beta Gamma Sigma member is an honor indicative of commitment, high academic achievement, and leadership.

While almost 350,000 students receive bachelors or master’s degrees in business each year, only about 25,000 are inducted into a lifetime membership in Beta Gamma Sigma. To be eligible for membership, students must be registered in business administration programs and be candidates for the baccalaureate or MBA degree. Students ranking in the top 10 percent of the junior class, the top 10 percent of the senior class or the top 20 percent of the master’s program are eligible for the membership.

Students installed include: Jesse Dobson of Bellaire; Philip Hall, John Stoops and Eric Walters of Boardman; McKenna Goske and Michael Podolsky of Canfield; Andrew Boyle of Columbus; Mike Cerni of Conneaut; Trevor Totten of Cortland; Drae Smith of East Palestine; Craig Frankford, Brian Keidel, Sophia Martini, Gina Ponzio, and Yuan Lu Beck of Girard; Angelia McClimans of Hubbard;  Jordan Moy of Kinsman; Megan Cherol, Nicole Davis, and Phil Lipari of Poland; Corinne Bocci of Sagamore Hills; Robert Moore of Warren; Jena Baun, Kurt Blackburn, Kathy Cody, Nickolas DeKraker, Patrick Rishel, Keith Sikora, Benjamin Smith, and Jessica Stofko of Youngstown. Andrew Hargest of Hermitage and Albert Rainey of New Castle are from Pennsylvania.

Brian Laraway of Canfield, a member of the first class of inductees to YSU’s Beta Gamma Sigma Chapter, was the keynote speaker at the induction ceremony. Laraway earned a bachelor’s degree in 2000 and a master’s degree in 2002, both in Business Administration and both from YSU. He is currently involved with Austintown Rotary, as an active member and past president, the Mahoning Valley Chapter of BNI, as an active member and past president, as well as the Man Up Mahoning Valley Steering Committee, Wick #481 F. & A.M. and a board member of the Eastern Regional Kidney Foundation.  He also provides his insight as a panelist on the Mahoning Valley Shale and Energy Show on 570 WKBN. He was honored in both 2007 and 2008 with the MVP 20/30 Club and the Community Foundation of the Mahoning Valley’s 40 Under 40 Award. Recently, he was awarded MVP status (one of the top three chosen) at the 25 Under 35 Awards.

With the addition of the new class, the Williamson College of Business Administration has inducted 530 students into BGS. The YSU chapter has been recognized as an Exemplary Chapter for its superior level of membership acceptance. With Exemplary Chapter status, the YSU BGS chapter awarded a $1,000 Beta Gamma Sigma scholarship to Michael Brand of Alliance in the 2012-2013 academic year. Bill Vendemia of Youngstown is the president and advisor, and Tony Kos of Transfer, Pa., is secretary/treasurer.  Deanna Hardy, senior in human resource management from Newton Falls, holds the office of vice president.