Leck, McBriarty receive Heritage Awards

Glorianne Leck is a retired faculty member of YSU and one of two recipients of the 2012 Heritage Award.

Glorianne Leck

Glorianne Leck, retired professor, and Charles McBriarty, retired dean and vice president of Student Affairs, receive the Heritage Award at the 31st annual Faculty and Staff Awards Dinner on Friday, May 4 in Kilcawley Center.

The Heritage Award, the university’s most prestigious honor for former faculty and administrative staff, is chosen by a 16-member committee of faculty, staff, administrators, alumni and retirees.

Also honored at the dinner are recipients of Administrative and Classified Distinguished Service Awards and faculty, administrative and classified employees who are retiring or have reached milestone years of service. For a full list of award recipients, visit http://web.ysu.edu/hr.

Leck came to YSU 1974 as an associate professor of Education and was promoted to professor in 1980. During her 30-year tenure, she served as acting chair and chair of the Department of Foundations of Education, chair of the YSU OEA Grievance Committee, Graduate Council and Graduate School Policy Committee.

She has a long list of honors, including the YWCA’s Outstanding Women of the Year Award, the Ohio Education Association Halloways Human and Civil Rights Commission Award, and a commendation from the mayor of Youngstown for service as a member and chair of the Mayor’s Human Relations Commission. She was also recognized in the book, Feminists Who Changed America: 1963 -1975. The YSU Board of Trustees conferred upon Leck the title of Faculty Emeritus in recognition of her long and meritorious service prior to retirement in 2002.

Charles McBriarty is a Youngstown State University employee who is honored with the Heritage Award for 2012.

Charles McBriarty

McBriarty, known as Charlie, came to YSU in 1974 as Dean of Student Affairs. A native of Elgin, Illinois, McBriarty received a B.S. degree from Northern Illinois University and an M.S. and Ed.D from Indiana University.

As Dean of Student Affairs at YSU, McBriarty was responsible for career planning, counseling services, international student services, student center, student orientation, student activities and student discipline. In 1979, he was promoted to positions he held for 15 years, eventually becoming Vice President for Student Affairs. He served under presidents Coffelt, Humphrey and Cochran, and helped shape the development of the student affairs area. Later in his career, he was appointed Special Assistant to the President, the position he held until his retirement in 2000. Upon his retirement, following 26 years of service, the YSU Board of Trustees bestowed upon McBriarty the title of Administrator Emeritus for his long and outstanding service to the University.