NEO Scholastic Art Awards Exhibit opens in Bliss Hall

The 2015 Northeastern Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition opens Monday, Jan. 12, in Bliss Hall on the campus of Youngstown State University.

Showcasing artwork from students grades 7 to 12 in Mahoning, Trumbull, Columbiana, and Ashtabula counties, the exhibition will on display through Thursday, Jan. 29, in two Bliss Hall locations: the Judith Rae Solomon Gallery on the second floor and in the Art Department of the fourth floor. The Gallery is open weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

The Scholastic Art Awards ceremony will be noon Saturday, Jan. 17, in Bliss Hall’s Ford Theater. The ceremony will feature the presentation of Gold and Silver Key awards as well as Honorable Mention awards, as well as the American Visions Awards. The American Visions Award and Gold Key finalists will be sent to New York to compete for awards and possible scholarships with other student entries from across the nation.

The Northeastern Ohio Scholastic Art Awards Exhibition program is designed to encourage student creativity, provide the opportunity for enrichment by interaction with their contemporaries, and bring student artwork into the public view.

The Scholastic Art Awards program is the largest and most comprehensive annual student art competition in America. Founded in 1927 by Scholastic Inc., the program is dedicated to recognizing the achievements of young artists. The program has recognized more than 13 million creative teenagers, including Andy Warhol and Robert Redford, in its 90-year history.

The following schools are participating in the exhibition:

Mahoning County: Austintown Fitch High School, Boardman High School, Boardman Center Middle School, Cardinal Mooney High School, Canfield High School, Canfield Village Middle School, Holy Family School, Jackson Milton High School, Lowellville High School, Poland Seminary High School, Saint Christine School, South Range High School, Struthers High School, Ursuline High School, West Branch High School, Western Reserve High School.

Trumbull County: Bloomfield High School, Champion Middle School, Howland High School, Howland Middle School, Hubbard High School, Joseph Badger High Schools, Lakeview High School, Liberty High School, Mathews High School, Newton Falls High School, Niles McKinley High School, Niles Middle School, Trumbull Career and Technical Center, Warren G. Harding High School.

Columbiana County: East Palestine High School, Leetonia High School, Salem High School, United Local High School, Wellsville High School.

Ashtabula County: Grand Valley Middle School and High School.

The Grand Patron Sponsor is Akron Children’s Hospital Mahoning Valley. Patron Sponsors are the Community Foundations of the Mahoning Valley and Youngstown State University Department of Art. Other sponsors include: Boardman Rotary, BOC Water Hydraulics, Inc., and the Trumbull County Educational Service Center.

Parking is available for a $5 fee in the M1 Wick Avenue parking deck. Those attending the awards ceremonies should enter Bliss Hall through the University Theater lobby on the first floor.