Geography Student Recognition and Awards Dinner March 30

Youngstown State University’s Geography Department hosts the 24th annual Student Recognition and Awards Dinner Monday, March 30, in the Presidential Suites of Kilcawley Center.

Prior to the dinner, the department will induct students into Gamma Theta Upsilon, the national Geography Honor Society. The ceremony will be held in the Jones Room.

In addition the annual JoAnn Knapic Awards for academic performance, the Outstanding Geography Paper Award and the Outstanding Geography Major Award, students will be recognized for participation in internship experiences with local government agencies. Jane Kestner will be recognized for contributions to the department during her tenure as interim dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Social Science and her previous role as associate dean.

The Geography department will announce the recipients of the 2015 Maigetter Scholarships and will also unveil the inaugural presentation of the Patricia Humbertson Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship is being established by Atty. Jeremy Mercer, who will be in attendance to assist with the presentation.