Beeghly Alumni Awards Dinner is April 26

Ten educators will be honored at the Youngstown State University Beeghly College of Education’s 10th Annual Outstanding Alumni Awards Dinner at 6:30 p.m. Thursday, April 26.

The dinner will be in McKay Auditorium in the Beeghly College of Education on Rayen Avenue, Youngstown.  Parking is available in the F2 Lot at the corner of Fifth and Rayen avenues. The cost is $28.00 per person or $224 for a table of 8. For more information and reservations, contact Jean Grabaskas in the Office of the Dean, Beeghly College of Education, at 330 941-3215. The deadline for reservations is April 19.

The following individuals will be honored:

  • Howard Friend, Administrator, Superintendent of Sebring Local Schools.
  • Cynthia Marchese, Educator, Springfield Local Schools.
  • Don P. Dailey, Lifetime Educational Service, Former Superintendent of Boardman Local Schools.
  • Jamie Carney, Counselor, Professor at Auburn University.
  • Germaine Bennett, Diversity, formerly from Youngstown City Schools.
  • Marcia Matanin, Dean’s Excellence, faculty in the YSU Department of Human Performance and Exercise Science.
  • Joseph Edwards, Dean’s Appreciation, Special Associate to the Dean, Beeghly College of Education.
  • Ernest Federico, Outstanding University Supervisor.
  • Jennifer Unger, Outstanding New Teacher, Mars Home for Youth-Longmore Academy.
  • Philip Ginnetti, Special Award, Former Dean at YSU and Provost of Edinboro University.