35 high school teams in Miniature Bridge Building Competition at YSU

bridge buildingThirty-five teams from 18 area high schools will take stabs at building the best foot-long balsa-wood bridge at the 8th annual Miniature Bridge Building Competition Friday, Feb. 27, in Kilcawley Center at Youngstown State University.

Among the schools registered to participate are Bristol High School, Brookfield High School, Champions High School, Chaney STEM, Hubbard High School, Jackson-Milton High School, LaBrae High School, Lowellville High School, Mahoning County Career and Technical Center, Mineral Ridge High School, Niles-McKinley High School, Poland Seminary High School, South Range High School, Springfield High School, Trumbull County Career and Technical Center, Ursuline High School, Western Reserve High School and Youngstown Early College

Awards will be given for first and second place for the most efficient bridge (bridge weight/failure load); a strength award for the bridge which carries the heaviest load; aesthetics; teamwork; and most improved. The Wade Harvey Design Award, which includes efficient, aesthetics and complexity, is also given in honor of Wade Harvey, a founding member of the event who died of cancer in 2010.

Nick Shuluga of Lowelville competes in the YSU Bridge Building competition for high schoolers and sponsored in part by departments in YSU's College of STEM.

The Mahoning Valley Miniature Bridge Building Competition was started in 2008 with the Mahoning County Engineer and Trumbull County Engineer, working in concert with YSU, ms consultants, inc., and GPD Group to assist in exposing high school students to the civil engineering and civil engineering technology field.

For more information, visit us at www.mvmbbc.org.